The “no cheat” thing isn’t me playing the tough guy or turning the Whole30 into hazing. It’s grounded in the science of an elimination diet, during which you have to completely eliminate suspected triggers to accurately evaluate them. (Otherwise, how will you know if life could be better without them?) Plus, the Whole30 is about keeping your promise to yourself. You committed to 30 days of evaluating your health, habits, and relationship with food, and I want you to honor that commitment. These foods are exceptions to the rules and are allowed during your Whole30. I want you to have this experience. I want you to join our community, complete the program, and see amazing results in every area of your life. Even if you aren’t convinced this will actually change your life, just give me 30 short days. You are that important, and I believe in our efficacy that much. It changed my life, and I want it to change yours, too. Welcome to the Whole30.  Text excerpted from The Whole 30 Friends & Family © 2019 by Melissa Hartwig Urban. Photography © 2019 by Ghazalle Badiozamani. Reproduced by permission of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. All rights reserved. Photo credit: Taylor Gage

The Whole30 Diet  What You Can   Cannot Eat During The Diet - 82The Whole30 Diet  What You Can   Cannot Eat During The Diet - 89The Whole30 Diet  What You Can   Cannot Eat During The Diet - 77